News Corp announces finalists for Cannes Young Lions

Rachael Micallef
By Rachael Micallef | 11 May 2016

The best and brightest of Australia’s young creative talent has come centre stage, with News Corp unveiling the shortlist for the Cannes Young Lions Competition.

A group of 100 industry judges has whittled down 280 teams to 28 for the second round of the competition, which sees finalists in print, media and cyber receive a 24 hour brief. The winning team for each category will be announced 19 May.

News Corp Australia's chief commercial officer, network sales Sharb Farjami says it's encouraging that in the six years that the competition has been running, the calibre of entrants has continually improved.

“The next round of the competition will be fiercely contested with three spots up for grabs for the most talented creative and advertising professionals to attend the 2016 Cannes Lions of International Festival of Creativity,” he says.

Winning teams receive return flights to Nice in France, accommodation and festival registration. Runner-up teams in media, print and cyber categories will represent Australia at the Young Spikes Asia Competition in Singapore in September.

The finalists are:


Marco Del Castillo and Allister Hercus (MEC)

John Principe and Vanessa Akem (Slingshot)

Charlotte Berry and Grace Espinoza (UM)

Claire Crennan and Claire Booth (Carat)

Ashleigh Vogel and Jack Bellamy (UM)

Jack Fittler and Daniel Carlin (Mindshare)


Berlin Liew (Vizeum) and Alex Brezzi (Carat)

Christina Diomides and Nick Threapleton (Dentsu Mitchell)

Luke Maher and Charmaine Green (Initiative)

Alex Grivas and Calvin Lyon (Cummins&Partners)


Amy Scarlett (ZenithOptimedia) and Lachlan Pentecost (Carat)

Luke Morgan and Alex Buckby (OMD)

Nelson Demartini (UM) and Roisin Rafferty (Carat)


Simon Keith and Ben Doecke (MEC)


Alexandra Atherley and Natalie Salinovich (Initiative)


Giles Clayton and Simon Hayes (J. Walter Thompson)

Adam Slater & Jacob Redding (Cummins&Partners)

Megan Riley (Marketforce) and Bree Smolinski (Shape Design)

Sarah Muscut and Samantha Cable (Leo Burnett)

Ray Ali and Nicole Hetherington (WiTH Collective)

Scott Pritchett and Dan Robinson (303 MullenLowe)


Will Winter-Irving and Pat Anderson (R/GA)

Alex Little and Kartsen Jurkschat (Ogilvy)

Michael Yang (Sapient Nitro) and Bodhi Burathoki (eg+)

Chris Andrawes and Tom Bradbeer (Longtail)

Kate Allan and Dane Van Veen (R/GA)

Grace Francis and Ashleigh Kennedy (George Patterson Y & R)

Tessa Midgley and Sophie Beard (DDB)

Have something to say on this? Share your views in the comments section below. Or if you have a news story or tip-off, drop us a line at

Sign up to the AdNews newsletter, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for breaking stories and campaigns throughout the day.

comments powered by Disqus