PHD's Mark Jarrett joins MFA board

By AdNews | 29 November 2021
Mark Jarrett.

The Media Federation of Australia (MFA) board voted at its annual general meeting to appoint PHD Australia CEO Mark Jarrett to the board, and to re-appoint five directors for further two-year terms.

The returning directors, voted unanimously by the board, are Dentsu Media CEO Sue Squillace, IPG Mediabrands
CEO Mark Coad, Initiative CEO Melissa Fein, MFA CEO Sophie Madden and This is Flow CEO Jimmy Hyett.

Katie Rigg-Smith, CEO of Mindshare, has stepped down from the board.

Mark Jarrett has joined the board as an Omnicom Media Group representative, replacing former OMD Australia CEO Aimee Buchanan, following Buchanan’s appointment as CEO of GroupM Australia & New Zealand.

Jarrett, with more than 20 years’ experience in Australia and the UK, has been CEO of PHD for the past two years, having previously held the MD role.

MFA CEO Sophie Madden: “Katie has been an engaged member of the board for nine years, and we appreciate and thank her for her tireless commitment and the passion she brought to the role. We’re pleased to be welcoming Mark, a respected leader with more than 20 years’ experience in Australia and the UK, who will bring a valuable perspective to our work in championing a dynamic and valued media industry.”

Peter Horgan, MFA Chair and CEO of Omnicom Media Group, thanked MFA members, the many MFA committees, working groups, and the MFA board, for the time and energy they put into supporting the industry during the year.

He said: “2021 was an exceptionally productive year for the MFA, with our submission to the ACCC Digital Advertising Services Inquiry, the launch of the Successful Agency Pitching Guide and updated MFA Transparency Framework, the creation of the MFA DE&I Advisory Council and the introduction of our industry’s first diversity, equity and inclusion measurement via the annual Mediai survey, among other projects. The positive impact of these projects – and the many others currently underway – will continue to be felt in our industry for a long time to come.”

The full board of the MFA:
Sophie Madden, CEO, MFA
Peter Horgan, CEO, Omnicom Media Group ANZ – Chair
Megan Brownlow, Non-executive Director – Deputy Chair
Mark Coad, CEO, IPG Mediabrands Australia
Peter Vogel, CEO, Wavemaker ANZ
Michael Rebelo, CEO, Publicis Groupe ANZ
Imogen Hewitt, CEO, Spark Foundry
Melissa Fein, CEO, Initiative Australia
Sue Squillace, CEO, Dentsu Media ANZ
Jimmy Hyett, CEO & Founder, This Is Flow
Chris O’Keefe, COO & Founder, Match & Wood
Virginia Hyland, CEO, Havas Media Group
Mark Jarrett, CEO, PHD Australia

Have something to say on this? Share your views in the comments section below. Or if you have a news story or tip-off, drop us a line at

Sign up to the AdNews newsletter, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for breaking stories and campaigns throughout the day.

comments powered by Disqus