King's Birthday 2024 honours for media industry figures

By AdNews | 10 June 2024
Hamish Blake and Zoe Foster-Blake

The 2024 King's Birthday honours list features media industry figures with awards made under the Order of Australia.

Peter Blunden, national executive editor at News Corp Australia, has been made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for "journalism, particularly through print media".

Blunden, who started as a cadet journalist in 1976, is a former editor of the Herald Sun and the Adelaide Advertiser and managing director of the Herald and Weekly Times.

Ian Grace was made an AM for "significant service to radio, and to the music industry". He is a former president of Virgin Radio International, CEO of Triple M Sydney and Melbourne and of 2CH/2GB.

Jillian Skinner, the former NSW health minister, was made an AM. She is a former journalist at the Melbourne Herald, Radio Hong Kong, Associated Press Hong Kong and the Sunday Australian.

John Reynolds has been awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to business. He is a former managing director, The Age, CEO, APN News and Media and chief executive, The West Australian.

Writer, comedian and actor Hamish Blake, of Lego Masters fame, has also been awarded an OAM for service to the arts.

From the 2024 King's Birthday honours list:

Member of the Order of Australia (AM) 

Mr Peter John Blunden, VIC For significant service to journalism, particularly through print media, and to the community.

Mr Ian Rodney Grace, Vaucluse NSW 2030 For significant service to radio, and to the music industry. 

The Honourable Jillian Gell Skinner, Cremorne NSW 2090 For significant service to the people and Parliament of New South Wales, and to community health.

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) 

The late Mr Nicholas John Way, Maylands WA 6051 For service to the media as a journalist, and to the community.

Ms Cassandra Margaret Eilish Wilkinson, Ultimo NSW 2007 For service to the broadcast media, and to the community.

Mr Hamish Donald Blake, NSW For service to the arts as an entertainer, and to the community. 

Mr Stephen Mark O'Doherty, Dural NSW 2158 For service to the community through a range of organisations.  Chair, Christian Media.

Mr James Rees For service to the arts as an entertainer, and to the community.

Mr John Cyril Reynolds, Mapleton QLD 4560 For service to business.  

Mr Sandy Roberts, Lysterfield VIC 3156 For service to media as a sports commentator.

Have something to say on this? Share your views in the comments section below. Or if you have a news story or tip-off, drop us a line at

Sign up to the AdNews newsletter, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for breaking stories and campaigns throughout the day.

comments powered by Disqus