Chris O’Keefe appointed independent director at MFA

Chris Pash
By Chris Pash | 20 November 2020
Chris O’Keefe

Chris O’Keefe, the managing partner of independent media agency Match & Wood, has been apppointed an independent director on the boad of the MFA (Media Federation of Australia).

He joins This Is Flow CEO and founder Jimmy Hyett as the second independent representative, replacing Bohemia Group CEO Brett Dawson, who is stepping down after six years.

O’Keefe: “I’m passionate about the work that media agencies do and I want to see the industry and our people flourish. A seat on the MFA Board is a great way to affect change on a larger scale.

"I look forward to working with my fellow board members to continue to elevate the perception of media agencies, to increase trust, and to ensure we are valued for our specialised skills – not just by CMOs, but also CEOs and CFOs.”

At the MFA's AGM, Peter Horgan was re-appointed chair, Megan Brownlow deputy chair and board members Katie Rigg-Smith and Mark Lollback are in for further two-year terms.

CEO Sophie Madden thanked all 2020 MFA board directors for their work.

“In my view, the MFA board is one of the hardest working at the best of times, and as we all know 2020 has been particularly challenging," she says.

"Among our proudest achievements this year were the launch of MFA Support, a program supporting media agency professionals who lost their job due to the Covid-19 pandemic; the expansion of our e-learning programs; and important industry collaborations, such as the Australian Digital Advertising Practices with the AANA and IAB and the AILA programs with the Advertising Council Australia.”

Peter Horgan, MFA chair and CEO of Omnicom Media Group: “I am grateful to my fellow MFA board directors for re-electing me for another two-year term. I’m proud of everything we achieved together in this challenging year, in particular the launch of MFA Support and expansion of the NGEN and MFA 5+ programs, and I plan to return next year with greater energy and commitment to tackle what 2021 has to throw at us.”

The full board of the MFA:
Sophie Madden, CEO, MFA
Peter Horgan, CEO, Omnicom Media Group ANZ – Chair
Megan Brownlow, Non-executive Director – Deputy Chair
Mark Coad, CEO, IPG Mediabrands Australia
Mark Lollback, CEO, GroupM ANZ
Michael Rebelo, CEO, Publicis Groupe ANZ
Imogen Hewitt, CEO, Spark Foundry
Katie Rigg-Smith, CEO, Mindshare Australia
Mel Fein, CEO, Initiative Australia
Sue Squillace, CEO, Carat ANZ
Aimee Buchanan, CEO, OMD
Jimmy Hyett, Managing Director & Founder, This Is Flow
Chris O’Keefe, Managing Partner, Match & Wood

Have something to say on this? Share your views in the comments section below. Or if you have a news story or tip-off, drop us a line at

Sign up to the AdNews newsletter, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for breaking stories and campaigns throughout the day.