Adland rivals to face off in UnLtd’s Big Clash

Mariam Cheik-Hussein
By Mariam Cheik-Hussein | 21 February 2019

Adland is again coming together for a round of cricket at UnLtd’s Big Clash event today.

From MediaCom’s Ben McCallum and TBWA’s Paul Bradbury to GroupM's Venessa Hunt and PHD's Lucy Formosa-Morgan, rivalries will be put aside to raise funds for UnLtd and its charity partners.

In Sydney, the first game starts at 11am at The University of Sydney Oval and will see creatives and techs face off, followed by media agenies vs media owners.

For Melbourne, game day is the following week on the 28 February at Fawkner Park, with media agencies playing against tech, following a game of creatives vs media owners.

This year is also the first year there’ll be a women’s game at both events, with AdNews’ own editor Pippa Chambers umpiring the Sydney match.

UnLtd CEO Chris Freel said since starting the event five years ago, it’s raised more than $350,000 and he is hoping to push it up to $400,000 this year.

“It’s an amazing day out and we invite everybody to come down and see for themselves in Sydney and Melbourne,” Freel said.

“I’m so proud that it has grown into a key event in the industry calendar. It isn’t often that you see adland leave their rivalries aside to come together in this way.

“The ladies matches are going to be super competitive having seen the girls in the nets, and this year for the men it is going to be tighter than ever.”

He invites everyone to come down and cheer on their colleagues and, if possible, donate prizes to help raise funds.

After the games there will be awards and a charity auction, followed by a party with live music from UnLtd charity partner MMAD.

To register for free spectator tickets see here.

Here are the complete event details and team lists:

21st Feb 2019
Oval 1, 1 Blackburn Circuit, Sydney University, NSW 2050
11am: Creative vs Tech
12.30pm: Media Agency vs Media Owner
2pm: Lady Ballers (Women's game)
3.30pm: Final
5pm: Awards, auction and party

28th Feb 2019
Oval CS7, Fawkner Park, South Yarra, VIC 3141
11am: Media Agency vs Tech
12.30pm: Creative vs Media Owner
2pm: Lady Ballers (Women's game)
3.30pm: Final
5pm: Awards, auction and after party on the rooftop of the Arcadia Hotel

UnLtd Big Clash 2019 Players – MEN’S GAME

Team Media Agency:
Ben McCallum, Mediacom – TEAM CAPTAIN
Jason Bradner, Spark Foundry
Mani Marimuthu, PHD Media
Sean Eustace, Initiative
Patrick Hammond, OMD
Tom Bartlam, Astus
Luke Hutchinson, M2M Media
Patrick Whitnall, Publicis Media
Alessandro Vari, Dentsu
Alexander Huxley, Zenith Media
Robert Ewing, Mindshare
Lewis Catlow, Wavemaker

Team Media Owners:
Guy Burbridge, Val Morgan – TEAM CAPTAIN
Samuel Pritchard, ARN
Anthony Bartram, Adshel
Oliver Newton, JCDecaux
Sean Rigby, oOh! Media
Daniel Favalor, Network 10
Grant Bingham, Pacific Magazines
Jamie Hollebone, Shopper Media
James Bannerman, The Guardian
Winston Stening, MCN
Chris Norris, Val Morgan
Scott Corcoran, Nine Australian Community Media

Team Tech:
Ricky Chanana, Unruly – TEAM CAPTAIN
Dan Flanagan, Facebook
Santhosh Chandra, InMobi
Ashton Desantis, Verizon Media
Craig Bonser, Quantcast
Joshua Forsyth, The Trade Desk
Chris Wood, REA
Hiren Raj, Domain
Matthew Coote, Snap
Kerry McCabe, PlayersVoice
Rob Atkinson
Paul Kent, Sizmek 

Team Creative:
Nick Jackson, Maud – TEAM CAPTAIN
Jack Stone, The Monkeys
Paul Bradbury, TBWA
Matt Springate, TBWA
Russel Hopson, M&C Saatchi
Justin Graham, M&C Saatchi
Alex Hayes, Bold Media
Yaron Segal, Talent International
Peter Kirk, Pluto Media
Brendan Willenberg, Clemenger
Josh McDonnell, AdNews

Team Media Agency:
Peter Butler, Spark Foundry – TEAM CAPTAIN
Siddarth Mehta, Resolution Media
Umar Hafiz, Initiative
Rob Moore, Mediacom
Alex Trumble, OMD
Cale Valkenburg, PHD Media
Ivo Kavelj, Dentsu
Simon Schoen, Zenith Media
Matt Dilger, Mindshare
Tim Carrucan, Wavemaker
Shaun Warry, Taska Media
Christian Simon, Taska Media

Team Media Owner:
Tim Murphy, oOh! Media – TEAM CAPTAIN
Kai Battaglene, ARN
James Goodwin, oOh! Media
Lindsay Blay, JCDecaux
Jack O'Donoghue, Network 10
James Hannah, Seven
Tom Zavecz, Shopper Media
Sam Ireland, The Guardian
Ben Sumpter, MCN
Peter Siorovingas, Val Morgan
Michael Prendergast, Val Morgan
Scott Corcoran, Nine

Team Tech:
Mark Ferguson, Facebook
Matthew McGinley, InMobi
Joe Cliff, Verizon Media
Darren Morton, Quantcast
Bernard Barry, The Trade Desk
Heath Irving, Unruly
Wade Barber, Domain
Zane Goold, Big Mobile
Matthew Coote, Snap
Craig Faram, Sizmek
John Danby, MiQ

Team Creative:
Andy Cairns, M&C Saatchi – TEAM CAPTAIN
Tomas Sabbatucci, Maud
Navin Arunasalam, The Monkeys
Tom King, TBWA
Scott Canning, TBWA
Gene Kingi, M&C Saatchi
Alex Hayes, Bold Media
Chris Freel, UnLtd
Tom Ashby, Clemenber
Kristian Curcio, 500 Digital Media
Roger Antochi, Talent Rise
Emile van Schalkwyk, PlayersVoice

UnLtd Big Clash – LADY BALLERS

Media Owners:
Penny Kaleta, Nine Australian Community Media – TEAM CAPTAIN
Rachel Page, Verizon Media
Karen Halligan, KPMG
Millie Di Maio, KPMG
Lucy Wadsworth, PlayersVoice
Bel Cook, Mamamia
Gemma Labadini, Wyse Women
Jen Davis, Wyse Women
Catriona Hay, B&T
Tatum Pearce, Usual Suspects
Sherice Bellantonio, Usual Suspects
Fiona Roberts, MiQ
Susie Mather, Seven

Kathryn Furnari, PHD – TEAM CAPTAIN
Lucy Formosa-Morgan, PHD
Marni Crutchley, UM
Rosie Baker, GroupM
Venessa Hunt, GroupM
Steff Plunkett, Cadreon
Kate Holland, Spark
Wendy Gower, M2M
Shilu Rijal, Mediacom
Laura Brady, Wavemaker
Erica Jenkins, ARN
Bronte Mikel, MKTG
Rebecca Darley, Westpac 

Media Owners:
Tiffany Damm, InMobi – TEAM CAPTAIN
Fran Vavallo, Pacific Magazines
Rachel Page, Verizon Media
Whitney Bettanin, Nine Digital
Dolly Herbert, MCN
Jaclyn Clements, Bauer
Sian Whitaker, Broadsheet
Olivia Potter, oOh! Media
Danni Hickox, Seven
Kate Wilkinson, JCDecaux
Suzanne Thresh, Seven 

Helen Karambilas, The Media Store – TEAM CAPTAIN
Sally Phelps, Starcom
Megan Kay, ZenithOptimedia
Sarah Thom, Nunn Media
Danielle Gowling, Vizeum
Megan Davey, Initiative
Janine Virtue, Carat
Alex Shaw, OMD
Rebecca Haining, Mindshare
Olivia Scott, CHE Proximity
Melanie McDonald, Dentsu Aegis
Lizzy O’Connor, PHD
Michelle O’Brien, DX Global
Josie Beever, Spark

UMPIRES – Sydney:
Gai Le Roy, IAB
Pippa Chambers, AdNews
David Hovenden, B&T
Paul Wallbank, Mumbrella
Paul Brooks, Nine
David Roddick
Tony Bell

UMPIRES – Melbourne:
Nick Swift, Amplifi
Alex Pekish, Amplifi
Jonas Jaanimagi, IAB

 Keep an eye on AdNews social media channels for updates.

Have something to say on this? Share your views in the comments section below. Or if you have a news story or tip-off, drop us a line at

Sign up to the AdNews newsletter, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for breaking stories and campaigns throughout the day.

Read more about these related brands, agencies and people

comments powered by Disqus